Historical Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Created By
Membership Details
Required for a Quorum
Meetings Held
Is Financial Disclosure Required to Serve?
Board Liaison
Board Coordinator
Board Members


The purpose of the Historical Commission is to protect the significant historic and archaeological resources of St. Lucie County; which includes, but is not limited to the designation of local historic sites, issue Certificates of Appropriateness and regulate and manage the historical, cultural, architectural and archaeological resources in St. Lucie County.

Created By

The Historical Commission was created by Ordinances 05-003, 06-045 & 10-003.

Membership Details/Requirements

  • The Historical Commission shall consist of seven (7) members.
  • Each member shall serve at the will of the person or entity appointing the member.
  • Two (2) members shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners as at-large members and shall be laypersons who have demonstrated special interest, experience, or knowledge in history, architecture, or related disciplines.
  • Each County Commissioner shall appoint one (1) of the other five (5) members to the Historical Commission and, to the extent possible, they shall include one (1) professional member from each of the following fields:
    • Anthropology, archaeology, history, preferably local history, or folklore;
    • Conservation or curation;
    • Architecture, preferably historic Florida architecture, landscape architecture;
    • Land use planning or historic preservation planning;
    • Professional engineer or certified General or Residential Contractor.

Appointment Terms

  • Four (4) year terms that do not run concurrent with the appointing commissioner
  • When the code was revised in 2010 some members were appointed to serve partial terms in order to prevent appointments from expiring at the same time

Required for a Quorum

Four (4)

Meetings Held

  • Third Tuesday of every quarter (Jan, Mar, July & Oct)
  • Planning and Development Services Conference Room 1 of the Roger Poitras Administration Annex located at 2300 Virginia Avenue, Fort Pierce, Florida

Is Financial Disclosure Required to Serve?


Board Liaison

Leslie Olson, Planning & Development Services Director



Board Liaison Designee

Kori Benton, Senior Planner



Board Clerk

Vanessa Desnoyers, Planning Technician





Board Members

Appointed By                                   
Term Expires                          
Krissta King- Land Use Planning or Historic  Preservation Planning
Commissioner Townsend
Mike Menard- Architecture
Commissioner Dzadovsky
Richard McAfoos- Anthropology, Archaeology, History
Commissioner Mitchell  02/2022
Betty Jo Stark - Layperson
At-Large  11/2021
Melanie Trewyn - Layperson At-Large  11/2022
Judy Biglin - Historian
Commissioner Hutchinson
Mike Middlebrook- Conservation/Curation

Commissioner Bartz