Board of Adjustment (BOA)

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Created By
Membership Details
Required for a Quorum
Meetings Held
Is Financial Disclosure Required to Serve?
Board Liaison
Board Coordinator
Board Members


The Board of Adjustment (BOA) has the power to authorize variances of the Land Development Code (LDC) in accordance with the provisions in Section 10.01.00. The board has the power to hear and decide appeals initiated by anyone aggrieved by any decision of an administrative official of the County with respect to the provisions of the code with some exceptions such as Wellfield Protection, Sea Turtle Protection, Wetland Protection and others. For more information regarding the exemptions, please review section 12.04.01 of the LDC in further detail. The BOA also has power to adopt rules of procedure that are not in conflict with the provisions of this code.

Created By

The BOA was created on September 21, 1971, by the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) adoption of Ordinance 71-5 and the Land Development Code (LDC), Section 12.04.01 outlines the powers and duties that govern the Board.

Membership Details/Requirements

All members of the Board of Adjustment shall be registered voters and residents of St. Lucie County for at least two (2) years preceding appointment.

Appointment Terms

  • Five (5) individually appointed members whose terms coincide with the terms of their appointee.
  • If the position becomes vacant, the County Commissioner who initially appointed that member shall fill the vacancy.
  • The filled vacancy shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Required for a Quorum

Three (3)

Meetings Held

  • 4th Wednesday of every month
  • County Commission Chamber of the Roger Poitras Administration Annex located at 2300 Virginia Avenue, Fort Pierce, Florida

Is Financial Disclosure Required to Serve?


Board Liaison

Leslie Olson, Planning and Development Services Director


Board Liaison Designee

Kori Benton, Senior Planner


Board Clerk

Vanessa Desnoyers, Planning Technician


Board Members

Appointed By                                   
Term Expires                          
Ron Harris  Commissioner Dzadovsky  11/2020
Stewart Mencer
 Commissioner Mitchell  11/2022
Captain Derek Foxx  Commissioner Bartz  11/2020
Robert Lowe Sr.
 Commissioner Hutchinson  11/2022
Alexander Tommie  Commissioner Townsend