VA Property Tax ExemptionsAre you eligible to save on your Property Taxes?
Initial application for any exemption must be filed in person at the St. Lucie County Property
Appraiser's Office between January 1 and March 1.
$5,000 disability exemption:
Florida veterans who are rated between10% and 90% for a service connected disability - as rated by the VA, may qualify for the $5,000 disability exemption. If filing for the first time, you will be asked to present a letter from the Veterans Administration stating disability of 10% or more. residents of St. Lucie County may contact our office to receive the letter.
Honorably discharged veterans certified by the federal government with a
service connected total and permanent disability, may be eligible for total exemption.
In addition, effective January 1, 1998, an amendment to the statute governing the tax exemption for totally and permanently disabled veterans was put into effect. The law extends the exemption to real estate owned and used as a homestead by the spouse of a veteran who died from service-connected causes while on active duty as a member of the United States Armed
Forces, and was a permanent resident of Florida on January 1 of the year of his or her death.
There was no previous provision that allowed an exemption for the spouse where the veteran died while on active duty. In order to obtain the exemption, the spouse must file a application with the local county property appraiser's office by March 1 of the year for which the exemption is claimed. The law requires the spouse to provide a letter from the United States Government or
the United States Department of Veteran Affairs certifying that the veteran died from service-related causes while on active duty as a member of the United States Armed Forces.
To qualify for any of these exemptions:
you must have established legal and permanent residency in the state of Florida
have legal or equitable title to the property as of January 1st as recorded in the official records of St. Lucie County
The property must be your permanent residence as of January 1.
The St. Lucie County Property Appraisers office now accepts pre-filed homestead applications
throughout the year so that you may avoid long lines during the regular filing period.
When you are making the application you should bring: A letter from the Veterans Administration stating disability of 10% to 90% or a letter stating 100% permanent and total disability. In addition you should bring a copy of recorded deed or tax bill, Florida driver's license, with correct address, Florida vehicle registration, Social Security Card or number of applicant & applicant's spouse, voter's registration, with correct address, or Declaration of Domicile, copy of entire trust, if property is so titled. All proof of residency must be dated prior to January 1. Exemptions are not transferable. If you purchase and/or move to a new residence, it is your responsibility to reapply.