DATE: PERMIT NO:
FEE: $100 per single family home

$200 per multi family residential building

$200 per non residential building

BEACH DUNE VEGETATION
TRIMMING PERMIT

PROJECT INFORMATION

OWNER NAME:

PROJECT LOCATION/ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:
CONTACT PHONE #:
PARCEL SIZE: PROPERTY TAX ID #:

CONTRACTOR INFORMATION (IF APPLICABLE):

NAME: ADDRESS:

St. Lucie County Code and Compiled Laws requires that this type of work be done by a licensed
contractor. If applying for this permit under the owner/builder exemption, see Disclosure Statement on
page 4.

PHONE NUMBER:

FLORIDA REG/CERT # ST LUCIE CO. CERT. #

A “Beach Dune Vegetation Trimming Permit” application shall be completed and approved prior to the
alteration of any dune vegetation, such as Sea Grapes. Please complete the requested information and
submit all items to the St. Lucie County Environmental Resources Department.

The removal or destruction of beach dune vegetation, due to untimely or inappropriate maintenance, is a
violation of Section 6.00.00 of the St. Lucie County Land Development Code AND Sections 161.053 and
161.054 of the Florida Statutes. The following guidelines are provided in the interest of assisting property
owners with maintaining on-site vegetation in an appropriate manner such that visibility and manageability
are achieved while the beach dune vegetation is protected and preserved from imprudent activities, such as
defoliation and erosion. If you have any questions please contact St. Lucie County Environmental
Resources Department at (772) 462-2526.

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPROVED ( ) DENIED ( )
CONDITIONS/COMMENTS:

ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT: DATE:
CONTRACTORS LICENSE DOCUMENTATION VERIFIED (reviewer must initial)
VERIFIED N/A

UPDATED 4/1/2008



Beach dune trimming guidelines:

1) Dead leaves and limbs should not be removed unless they are creating a safety hazard because
they protect sensitive understory plants and new growth from salt spray;
2) No more than one-third of the height of any plant may be removed in a single year and no more

than one-third of the total leaf surface area of a plant may be removed in a single pruning event or
in a single year;

3) No plant less than six feet (6°) should be cut and no plant shall be cut to a height less than six feet
(6°);

4) Trimming shall be done once per trimming season, between March 1% and October 1%, to prevent
plant vulnerability to disease and weakness during winter months; and

5) Trimming of dune vegetation shall not be performed in such a manner that will adversely affect

the lighting conditions with regards to the SLC Sea Turtle Protection Regulations. Potential for
disorientation and subsequent injury or mortality of hatchling marine turtles exists due to increase
illumination of the nesting beach as a result of over pruning. Marine turtle mortality resulting
from increased illumination may be considered a violation of Chapter 370.12 FS, and the Federal
Endangered Species Act of 1973. Such a violation could subject the responsible party to
prosecution by both the Florida Department of Environmental Protection and the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service with fines up to $10,000.
6) Florida Department of Environmental Protection permitting requirements must also be satisfied.

PLEASE HAVE THE FOLLOWING ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS NOTARIZED:
| CERTIFY THAT: (CHECK ONE)
A () I AM THE OWNER OF RECORD OF THE ABOVE DESCRIBED

PROPERTY AND WILL BE CONDUCTING THE WORK AS OWNER/BUILDER.
Disclosure Statement: State law requires construction to be done by licensed contractors. You have applied for a permit
under an exemption to that law. The exemption allows you, as the owner of your property, to act as your own contractor
with certain restrictions even though you do not have a license. You must provide direct, onsite supervision of the
construction yourself. You may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding. You may also
build or improve a commercial building, provided your costs do not exceed $75,000. The building or residence must be
for your own use or occupancy. It may not be built or substantially improved for sale or lease. If you sell or lease a
building you have built or substantially improved yourself within 1 year after the construction s complete, the law will
presume that you built or substantially improved it for sale or lease, which is a violation of this exemption. You may not
hire an unlicensed person to act as your contractor or to supervise people working on your building. It is your
responsibility to make sure that people employed by you have licenses required by state law and by county or municipal
licensing ordinances. You may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed contractor who is not
licensed to perform the work being done. Any person working on your building who is not licensed must work under your
direct supervision and must be employed by you, which means that you must deduct F.1.C.A. and withholding tax and
provide workers' compensation for that employee, all as prescribed by law. Your construction must comply with all
applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations.
B. () I AM NOT THE OWNER OF RECORD OF THE ABOVED

DESCRIBED PROPERTY; HOWEVER, | HAVE AUTHORITY TO ACT AS AGENT FOR THE OWNER

OF RECORD. (St. Lucie County Code and Compiled Laws requires that this type of work be done by a

licensed contractor. PLEASE PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION).

I CERTIFY THAT ALL INFORMATION SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE AND COMPLETE TO THE BEST
OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

OWNER/ AGENT SIGNATURE

STATE OF FLORIDA,

COUNTY OF ST. LUCIE

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged
before me this____ day of , 20,

by , who is
personally know to me or has produced

as identification.

Signature of Notary

Type or Print Name of Notary
Notary Public Title
Commission Number

(SEAL):

CONTRACTOR SIGNATURE

STATE OF FLORIDA,

COUNTY OF ST. LUCIE

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged
before me this____ day of , 20,

by , who is
personally know to me or has produced

as identification.

Signature of Notary

Type or Print Name of Notary
Notary Public Title
Commission Number

(SEAL):

UPDATED 4/1/2008
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