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CHECK LIST 

  
 
 

 1. Application fee of $100.00 made payable to ST. LUCIE COUNTY 
   
 2. Fee of $24.00 made payable to FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT 
   
 
 

A complete set of fingerprints of the applicant.  In the case of a Partnership, Association or 
Corporation, this information needs to be provided from all Partners, Associates, Corporate 
Officers, Management Personnel and Directors 
Fingerprints are taken at: 

 

3. 

St. Lucie County Sheriff’s Department Identification Bureau 
4700 W. Midway Road    Fort Pierce, FL 

 
 

4. Two (2) current full-face view passport type photographs of the applicant.  In the case of a 
Partnership, Association or Corporation, this information needs to be provided from all 
Partners, Associates, Corporate Officers, Management Personnel and Directors 

   
 
 

5. A copy of a valid State of Florida Driver’s License of the appropriate classification for the 
vehicle driven. 

   
 6. Driver’s License check by Nancy Smith, Clerk/Traffic. 
   
 7. Vehicle Registration for all vehicles. 
   
 8. An original Certificate of Insurance containing: 
   
  a. Type of coverage e. Effective date 
  b. Amount of coverage f. Expiration date 
  c. Radius of coverage g. Agent’s signature 
  d. Policy number h. Cancellation statement completed 
 

 

 
Please make sure that the Business Name, Workers’ Compensation/Liability “Insured” name 
and the State License name (if applicable) all match EXACTLY. 

 

 

* Certificate Holder Should read:   
St. Lucie County Contractor Certification 

2300 Virginia Avenue    
Fort Pierce, Florida 34982 

 
 

9. Affidavit from Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations, that applicant has 
complied with the State Fictitious Name Law.                                  

 10. A completed application for each driver applying for a Certificate of Transportation Class ‘A’ 
 
 

11. After receiving the St. Lucie County Motor Carrier License, a St. Lucie County Occupational 
License must be obtained from the St. Lucie County Tax Collector, if applicable. 

 
 
The applicant is required to meet all of the requirements of Section 1-13.3-20 Standards of review.  

PROCEDURES FOR APPLYING FOR 
ST. LUCIE COUNTY 

CLASS “A” CERTIFICATE OF TRANSPORTATION 
(Owner and Driver of Entity) 
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CHECK LIST 

These standards are to be met by both Class ‘A’ and Class ‘B’ Certificates of Transportation 
Application. 
 

1. Applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years of age on the date of application. 
  
2. Applicant must hold a valid State of Florida Driver’s License of the appropriate classification for the 

vehicle being driven. 
  
3. Applicant cannot have a conviction or plea of nolo contenderé, within the preceding five (5) years to 

any of the following: 
  

 
a. Any crime involving the sale or possession of controlled substances as defined in Section 

893.02, Florida Statutes (1993). 
 b. Any crime defined by Chapter 796, Florida Statutes (1993) related to prostitution. 

 
c. Any offense relating to driving under the influence of controlled substances or alcohol as set 

forth in Section 316.193, Florida Statutes (1993). 
  
4. Applicant cannot have a conviction, or pleas of nolo contenderé, or any criminal offense or felony 

involving the use of deadly weapons, unless the civil rights of the applicant or Certificate Holder 
have been restored. 

  
5. Applicant cannot have a revocation or suspension within the preceding three (3) years of a State of 

Florida Driver’s, Chauffeur’s or Commercial Driver’s License. 
  
6. Applicant cannot have more than two (2) traffic infractions resulting in accidents in the preceding 

three (3) years. 
  
7. Applicant cannot have more than four (4) convictions of moving traffic violations in the preceding 

eight (8) years. 
  
8. Applicant must meet the insurance requirements set forth in Section 1-13.3-21 if required. 
  
 Taxicab: Not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) per person and fifty thousand 

dollars ($50,000.00) per incident as to public liability, and property damage coverage 
in an amount not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00). 

 Limousine: Not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00) per person and one hundred 
thousand dollars ($100,000.00) per incident as to public liability, and property damage 
coverage in an amount not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00). 

 Van: Not less than one hundred thousand ($100,000.00) per person and three hundred 
thousand dollars ($300,000.00) per incident as to public liability, and property damage 
coverage in an amount not less than one hundred thousand ($100,000.00). 

  
 FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS SECTION SHALL RESULT IN THE 

DENIAL OF A CERTIFICATE, REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF A CERTIFICATE, A DENIAL 
OF A RENEWAL OF A CERTIFICATE, OR OTHER SUCH REMEDIES AVAILABLE TO THE 
COUNTY. 
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App. Fee: ______________            Date: _______________            Certificate #: ____________________ 

DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR 
ST. LUCIE COUNTY 

CERTIFICATE OF TRANSPORTATION CLASS ‘A’ 
(Owner and Driver of Entity) 

 
 
Individual Applicants: Please answer all questions for: 

- Yourself  and 
- All Management Personnel 

Partnership/Association Applicants: Please answer all questions for: 
- Yourself  and 
- All Partners/Associates and 
- All Management Personnel 

Corporation Applicants: Please answer all questions for: 
- Yourself  and 
- All Corporate Officers 
- All Directors and 
- All Management Personnel 

 
 
Name of Corporation 
(if applicable):  
Address of Corporate 
Headquarters in Florida:  

State of Incorporation:  

Business Phone:  

Email Address:  

Name of Owner:  

Address of Owner:  

Home Phone:  

Citizen of United States Yes(       )        No(      ) 

Date of Birth  

Social Security #  
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Trade name under which the motor carrier service will be operated: 
 
 
 
 

List of all previous addresses for five (5) years preceding the date of this application: 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Provide a description of the type of transportation service which the applicant desires to furnish, 
including whether taxicab, limousine or other. 
 
 

 

 

 
Provide a brief description of the number, types of vehicles to be used, seating capacity of the 
vehicles, a statement indicating whether each vehicle is accessible for persons with disabilities, a 
description of the accessibility feature(s) of each vehicle, and the State of Florida Motor Vehicle 
License Number of each vehicle. 
 

Quantity 
Type of 
Vehicle 

Seating 
Capacity 

Disability 
Accessible? 

Description of 
Disability Accessibility 

Feature(s) 

Vehicle License 
Number 
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Have you paid all current annual State of Florida License Tax on motor vehicles for hire for all motor 
vehicles to be used by the applicant? 
 

 YES 

  

 NO 
 
Have the appropriate License Tax been affixed to each such vehicle? 
 

 YES 

  

 NO 
 
 
Do you have evidence of insurance as required in section 1-13.3-21? 
 
Taxicab: Not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) per person and fifty thousand dollars 

($50,000.00) per incident as to public liability, and property damage coverage in an amount 
not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00). 

Limousine: Not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00) per person and one hundred thousand 
dollars ($100,000.00) per incident as to public liability, and property damage coverage in an 
amount not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00). 

Van: Not less than one hundred thousand ($100,000.00) per person and three hundred thousand 
dollars ($300,000.00) per incident as to public liability, and property damage coverage in an 
amount not less than one hundred thousand ($100,000.00). 

 

 YES 

  

 NO 
 
Fingerprints can be taken at: 

 
St. Lucie County Sheriff’s Department 

Identification Bureau 
4700 W. Midway Road 

Fort Pierce, FL 
 
Geographic area to be served from applicant’s base of operations: 
 

50 Mile Radius:  

250 Mile Radius:  
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List all vehicular and pedestrian accidents involving property damage and/or personal injury that the 
applicant has been directly involved in, which have occurred within five (5) years of the date of this 
application, including an identification of all final judgments and/or criminal findings, along with any 
other pertinent information. 
 
 

 

 

 
List all crimes (including traffic) of which the applicant has been convicted within five (5) years 
preceding the date of the application.  Partnerships, Association or Corporate Applicants need to 
provide this information for all Partners, Corporate Officers and Directors. 
 
 

 

 

 
List all motor carrier certificates, permits or authorizations granted or denied (indicate which) to the 
applicant by a governmental entity within the preceding three (3) years. Partnerships, Association or 
Corporate Applicants need to provide this information for all Partners, Corporate Officers and 
Directors. 
 
 

 

 

 
List all failures by applicant to perform on a motor carrier contract, franchise or license within six (6) 
years preceding date of application.  Partnerships, Association or Corporate Applicants need to 
provide this information for all Partners, Corporate Officers and Directors. 
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Re: Collection of Personal Information 
 
 
We care about your privacy and endeavor to protect it to the 
greatest extent possible.  In order to obtain information to 
protect our office, and to provide you with benefits, certain 
personal information from you and your dependents must be 
obtained.  For your information, social security numbers and 
benefits information are not subject to Florida’s public records 
laws and are not furnished to anyone, unless properly subpoenaed 
by a court of law or provided to an agency whose need for the 
social security numbers are necessary to carry out their 
function.  Your social security number will be obtained solely 
for the purpose of fulfilling duties and responsibilities as 
prescribed by law and include: 
 

1. To process and report wages pursuant to the Social 
Security Administration Act 

 
2. To report income pursuant to the Federal Department of 

Internal Revenue Service 
 

3. To follow the guidelines set forth by the U.S. Citizen 
and Immigration Service 

 
4. To initiate and process applicant or employee background 

checks 
 
5. Drug Screening Test Identification 
 
6. Process employment benefits including, but not limited 

to, Health Insurance, Florida Retirement, Income 
Reporting, Unemployment Compensation and Worker’s 
Compensation. 
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AFFIDAVIT 
 
 
 
TO BE ATTESTED TO BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC: 
 
 
 
STATE:     ______________                      
 
COUNTY: ______________                      
 
 
 

BEFORE ME, AN OFFICER DULY QUALIFIED TO ADMINISTER OATHS AND TAKE 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT, PERSONALLY APPEARED ______________________________________, 

KNOWN TO ME TO BE THE PERSON HEREIN DESCRIBED AND SUBSCRIBING HERETO, AND ON 

OATH DEPOSES AND SAYS:  THAT THE STATEMENTS MADE IN THIS APPLICATION, TO THE BEST OF 

HIS/HER KNOWLEDGE, ARE TRUE AND CORRECT. 

 

 

       ________________________________ 
        Signature of Applicant 
 

 

 
  STATE OF FLORIDA 

COUNTY OF ____________________ 
 
The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this 
__________ day of __________________, 20________, by 
__________________________________________, who is 
personally known to me or has produced 
__________________ as identification. 

 
 
 
 
       ________________________________ 
        Signature of Notary 


