St. Lucie County

Bicycle, Pedestrian,
Greenways and Trails
Master Plan
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For Hikers & Pedestrians

When approached from behind by others
traveling faster than yourself, step aside and
let them pass.

If you are in a group, do not block the trail to
other users.

Remember that equestrians have the right
of way.

Florida's Bicycle
Safety Laws

Legal Status - Bicycles are Vehicles

In, Florida, the bicycle legally defined as a vehicle. Bicyclists
have the same rights to the roadways and must obey the
same traffic laws as the operators of other vehicles. These
laws include stopping for stop signs and read lights, riding
with the flow of traffic, using lights at night,and yielding the
right-of-way when entering a roadway.

With few exceptions, there is only one road and it is up to
bicyclists and motorists to treat each other with care and
respect. Strict adherence to the law in the foundation for
this respect.

Traffic Law Highlights
Bicycle Regulations (see Section 316.2065, F..S..)

A bicyclist must obey all traffic controls and signals
A bicyclist must use a fixed, regular seat for riding.

No bicycle may be used to carry more persons at one time
than the number for which it is designed or equipped,
except that an adult rider may carry a child securely
attached to his or her person in a backpack or sling, a bicycle
rider must carry any passenger who is a child under 4 years
of age, or who weigh 40 pounds or less, in a seat or carrier
that is designed to carry a child of that age or size and that
secures and protects the child from the moving parts of the
bicycle. A bicycle rider may not allow a passenger to remain
in a child seat or carrier on a bicycle when the rider is not in
immediate control of the bicycle.

A bicycle rider or passenger who is under 16 years of age
must wear a bicycle helmet fastened securely to the head.
The helmet must meet the standards of the American
National Standards Institute (Z90.4) or Snell Memorial Foun-
dation (1984) or Consumer Product Safety Commission
(1997).

At least one hand must be kept on the handlebars while
riding.

For All Trail Users

Check the weather forecast for
your destination. Pack clothing,
equipment and supplies accord-

ingly.

Know the regulations and special
concerns for the area you'll visit.
Obey all trail-use rules posted at
trailheads.

Whenever possible, always be on
the trail with someone else.

Wear the appropriate safety gear.

Make adequate provisions for
water. Carry water and emer-
gency supplies even on short
trips.

Stay on designated trails.

ﬁ Respect private property and
route closures.

Be alert for natural hazards such
as stinging insects, thorny vines,
poison ivy,and overhanging
limbs.

Please leave plants and animals
undisturbed.

Pack out all trash that you bring
to the area.

Do not leave valuable items
visible in your vehicle when
parked at a trailhead. Store valu-
ables in the trunk or other secure
location while you are on the
trail.

Leash Pets: Please clean up
after you pets

Tips & Safety

For Equestrians...
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Travel at a safe speed. Approach each turn

as if someone were around the turn.

Let users know when it is safe to pass your
horse.

If a trail is muddy, the weight of a horse can
damage it. Attempt to use an alternate trail
if one is available.
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Parents and guardians must not knowingly allow a child or
minor to violate any provision of this section.

Every bicycle must be equipped with a brake or brakes
which allow the rider to stop within 25 feet from a speed of
10 miles per hour on dry, level, clean pavement.

Sidewalk Riding (see Section 316.2065, F.S.)
When riding on sidewalks or in crosswalks, a bicyclist has the
same rights and duties as a pedestrian.

A bicyclist riding on the sidewalk or in crosswalks must yield
the right-of-way to pedestrians and must give an audible
signal before passing.

Lighting (see Section 316.2065, F.S.)

A bicycle operating between sunset and sunrise must be
equipped with a lamp an the front exhibiting a white light
visible from 500 feet to the front and both a red reflector
and a lamp on the rear exhibiting a red light visible from 600
feet from the rear.

Additional lighting is permitted and recommended.

Roadway Position (see Section 316.2065, F.S.)
A bicyclist who is not traveling at the same speed of the
other traffic must ride as close as practicable to the right
hand curb or edge of the roadway. A bicyclist may leave the
right-most portion of the road in the following situations:
when passing, making a left turn, to avoid hazards, or when
a lane is too narrow for a bicycle and a car to share safely.

A bicyclist operating on a one-way street with two or more
traffic lanes may ride as close to the left hand edge of the
roadway as practicable.

Riding in single file is required except on bike paths or parts
of roadways set aside for exclusive use of bicycles, or when
two people riding side-by-side within lane will not impede
traffic flow.

Left Turns (see Section 316.151[11[b] and [c],
F.S.)

A bicyclist intending to make a vehicle left turn is entitled to
full use of the lane from which the turn is made. After
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For Bicyclists
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Obey Applicable Lane Rules

Ride with Traffic flow and as far right as
practical. Use bike lane if available.
Ride to right-most portion of road
when wide enough to share with cars.
When lane is too narrow to share
safely, ride further out in traffic lane.

Do Not Pass on the Right

Do not overtake an automobile when
approaching an intersection or when
the automobile has a turn signal
flashing.

Scan the Road Around You

Watch constantly for cars, people,
debris, grates, etc.. Make eye contact
with drivers. Assume they don't see
you until they stop. Learn to look over
your shoulder without losing balance
or swerving left. Some bicyclists use
rear view mirrors.

scanning, signaling, and moving to the center of the lane,
the bicyclist must check the signal, then proceed when it is
green and safe to do so.

In addition to the normal vehicle left turn, a bicyclist may
proceed through the right-most portion of the intersection
and turn as close to the curb or edge as possible at the far
side. After complying with any official traffic control device,
the bicyclist may proceed to the new direction of travel.

Another option available to a bicyclist is to dismount and
walk through the intersection in the crosswalk like a pedes-
trian.

Signaling Turns (see Section 316.155[2] and
316.157[2],F.S.)

A signal of intent to turn must be given during the last 100
feet traveled by the vehicle before turning. If a bicycle needs
both hands for control, the signal need not be given
continuously.

A bicyclist may signal intent to turn right either by extend-
ing the left hand and arm upward or by extending the right
hand and arm horizontally to the right side of the bicycle.

Headsets (see Section 316.304.F.S.)

A bicyclist must not wear a headset, headphones, or other
listening device other than a hearing aid when riding. Wear-
ing a headset blocks out important audio cues needed to
detect the presence of other traffic.

Civil Penalties (see Section 318.18[1], [2] and
[3],F.S.)

Civil penalties may be issued for violations of bicycle laws as
well as the moving and nhon-moving violations.

Limited Access Facilities and Interstate High-
ways (see Section 316.091, F.S.)

Bicycles shall not operate upon a limited access facilities or
interstate highways.
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Sharing the Facilities
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Watch for Opening Car Doors

Whenever possible, ride about a car
door’s width away from parked cars.

Never Weave Between Cars

Ride in a straight line and avoid weav-
ing between parked cars. Motorists
may not see you when you re-enter
traffic flow.

Ride Slowly on Sidewalks

On sidewalks, pedestrians have the
right-of-way. You must give them an
audible warning when you pass (voice,
bell, or horn). Do not cross driveways
or intersections without looking care-
fully for traffic. Yield to traffic when
entering roadways. Riding on side-
walks is prohibited in the downtown
area (illustrated in map below).

Never Ride Against Traffic

Motorists do not look for bicyclists
riding on the wrong side of the road. In
Florida the bicycle is legally defined as
a vehicle. Bicyclists must obey the
same traffic laws as operators of other
vehicles. This rule does not apply
when riding on sidewalks.
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Follow Lane Markings

Do not turn left from the right lane. Do
not go straight in a lane marked right-
turn only.

Choose the Best Way to Turn
Left

There are two ways to make a left turn:

1. As in driving, move into the left lane
and turn left. 2.Like a pedestrians, ride
straight to the far side crosswalk, and
walk your bike across. Always use hand
signals.

Use Light at Night

The law requires a white headlight
(visible for at least 500 feet ahead), and
rear reflector or trial light (visible at
least 600 feet from behind). Nearly 60
percent of all fatal bicycle accidents
occur during twilight and night hours.

Use Hand Signals

Hand signals tell motorists and pedes-
trians what you intend to do. Signal as
a matter of law, of courtesy, and of self-
protection.

About this map:

This map illustrates the St. Lucie County bicycle and
pedestrian facilities. It differentiates between existing
and proposed facilities and distinguishes between differ-
ent types of paths. The goal is to help you enjoy this
beautiful county and take advantage of alternative forms
of transport.
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Sponsored by:
St. Lucie County
2300 Virginia Avenue
Fort Pierce, Florida 34982

http://www.stlucieco.gov/

Prepared by:

GLATTING JACKSON KERCHER ANGLIN

www.glatting.com  www.walkable.org

Observe Skill Level of
Off-Road Trails

Off-road trail systems vary in levels of
difficulty. Choose a trail system fit for
your personal skill level. To prevent
injury, always wear a helmet while
riding off-road.

Always Wear a Helmet

Nearly 75 percent of all bicycle-related
deaths result from head injuries. Wear-
ing a helmet is optional for persons 16
years or older, but Florida law requires
a bicycle rider or passenger under 16
to wear a bicycle helmet meeting spe-
cific safety standards.

Cycling Safely in Town
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Local Bike Shop
Information

Orange Blossom Bicycle Shop
3260 River Dr.
Fort Pierce, FL 34981
(772) 465-8880
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Wayne & Eleanore Rideout
510 Joanne Ln.
Port St. Lucie, FL 34952
(772) 878-2677

Sprockets Adventures Inc
345 SE Port Saint Lucie Blvd.,
Port St. Lucie, FL 34984
(772) 336-3399



