Permanent and Special ExhibitsThe St. Lucie County Regional History Center will be showcasing three new exhibits featuring never-displayed-before early Indian artifacts and an extensive doll collection, starting Saturday, Feb. 4.
For the first time ever, the John Durham Collection of early Native American artifacts will be on display at the Regional History Center, including plummets, Celts of stone and shell, worked shark teeth, shell beads, and spear and arrow points. Beautiful necklaces of shark and fish vertebra bones, accented with a few sea shells, dominate the exhibit.
In the large gallery, “Hello Dollies” will be showcasing the International Doll Collection of Carol Dunn Reed. In the 1930s, Carol Dunn, a local schoolgirl, contacted foreign girls through the Rotary Club and exchanged dolls and letters with them. This is the first time the collection has been open to the public. History Center Friends and volunteers have included many of their own dolls to round out the exhibit.
Additionally, as a way to celebrate the Girl Scouts of Southeast Florida’s 100 years of organized scouting, the Regional History Center will feature Scout Dolls through the years and other memorabilia. A guest book will be available for Girl Scouts to sign with a rubbing plate for their Passport Booklet. An activity is also available for Girl Scouts to participate in to qualify for a 100th Anniversary Patch.
The grand opening for these exhibits is scheduled for Saturday, Feb. 4 from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. Refreshments will be served.
Located at 414 Seaway Drive on South Hutchinson, the St. Lucie County Regional History Center is open Wednesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. and Sunday from 1 – 4 p.m. Admission is $1.50 for children under 12; $2.50 for students 13 to 17 years old, $4 for adults and $3.50 for seniors.
For more information call Lucille at 772-462-1795. The St. Lucie County Regional History Center operates in partnership with St. Lucie County and volunteers with the St. Lucie Historical Society.